Current committee members

Here is a complete list of people currently sitting on our committees. Many contribute to our sound governance and management by giving us their time and expertise on a volunteer basis. The Dean and Chapter are deeply grateful for their support and guidance.

The Cathedral Council

The Council’s members are drawn from a wide variety of organisations, providing an important sounding board and source of expertise to the Dean and Chapter. Its role is to further and support the Cathedral’s spiritual, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical work. Its 14 members meet at least twice a year.

Chair: Miss Jean Ritchie QC
The Very Reverend James Atwell
Mr Alan Lovell
Surgeon Vice Admiral Anthony Revell
Mrs Annabelle Boyes
The Reverend Canon Dr Roland Riem, Vice-Dean and Canon Chancellor
The Reverend Canon Dr Ian Tomlinson
Lady Portal (Louisa)), High Sheriff of Hampshire
The Reverend Canon Jo Stoker
Mr Stephen Adam (Minutes Secretary)
Mr Martin Rudd
Mr Paul Wing
Mr David Evans
The Reverend Dr Andrew Wood
Alastair Bruce
Visitor: The Bishop of Winchester

The College of Canons

The College of Canons brings together the experience and knowledge of ordained and lay clergy from the Cathedral and the Bishop’s office. It plays an important role in supporting the Cathedral’s mission and ministry in the wider Diocese of Winchester, and ensuring good governance. Its members meet three times a year.

The Bishop of Winchester, The Rt Revd Timothy Dakin

The Chapter of Winchester
The Dean of Winchester, The Very Revd James Atwell
Vice-Dean and Canon Chancellor, The Reverend Canon Dr Roland Riem
Canon Precentor and Sacrist, The Revd Canon Sue Wallace
Receiver General and Canon Treasurer, Mrs Annabelle
The Lord Plant of Highfield
Mr George Medd
Ms Debbie Thrower

Bishop’s Staff
The Bishop of Basingstoke, The Rt Revd David Williams
The Bishop of Southampton, The Rt Revd Jonathan Frost
The Dean of Guernsey, VACANT
The Dean of Jersey, The Very Revd Bob Key
The Archdeacon of Winchester, The Venerable Michael Harley
The Archdeacon of Bournemouth, The Venerable Dr Peter Rouch
Lay Canon Andrew Robinson (2012)
Archdeacon for Mission The Revd Canon Dr Paul Moore (2014)

Canon Theologian
The Revd Canon Dr Judith Maltby (2011)

Honorary Canons
The Revd Canon Kenneth Batt 2007)
The Revd Canon Jackie Browning (2009)
The Revd Canon Dr Andrew Goddard (2012)
The Revd Canon John Harkin (2009)
The Revd Canon Clive Hawkins (2005)
The Revd Canon Geoff Houghton (2011)
The Revd Canon Gary Philbrick (2009)
The Revd Canon Steve Pittis (2013)
The Revd Canon Dr Brian Rees (2011)
The Revd Canon Peter Seal (2013)
The Revd Canon Jo Stoker (2008)
The Revd Canon Ian Tomlinson (2004)
The Revd Canon Karen MacKinnon (2014)
The Revd Canon Malcolm Jones (2014)
The Revd Canon Phil Collins (2014)
The Revd Canon Tim Sledge (2014)

Ecumenical Canons
The Abbot of Fleury (2011)
The Revd Canon Paul Townsend (2011)
The Revd Dr Howard Mellor (2011)

Finance and Investment Advisory Committee

This committee gives the Dean and Chapter expert advice on all Cathedral money matters, including finances and investments. Its eight members include four members of Chapter and four experts in the field. It meets three times a year.

Chair: Sir James Butler CBE DL
The Very Reverend James Atwell
Mr Ed Byers
Mr Nigel Atkinson, Lord Lieutenant of Hampshire
Mr John Pringle
Mrs Annabelle Boyes
The Reverend Canon Dr Roland Riem, Vice-Dean and Canon Chancellor
Mr Martin Reid
Mr Christiaan Beech (in attendance)

Fabric Advisory Committee

Maintaining the fabric of our buildings is a vital and ongoing task that requires specialist knowledge. This group of experts advises Chapter on conservation issues and any alterations to buildings. At a national level, they answer to the Cathedrals’ Fabric Commission for England, and liaise with English Heritage. Its members meet three times a year.

Chair:Prof Martin Biddle OBE
Secretary: Julia Fordham
Mrs Annabelle Boyes
Mr Christopher Gordon
Mr John Spokes QC
Dr Barbara Yorke
Ms Zuleika Dobson
Anthony Feltham-King
Michael Wheeler
Jeremy Davies
The Very Reverend James Atwell (in attendance)
Mr Carlton Bath (in attendance)
Cathedral Architect, Nick Cox (in attendance)
Dr John Crook (in attendance)
Mr Peter Macfarlane (in attendance)

Winchester Cathedral Enterprises Ltd (WCEL)

This trading company, which is wholly owned by Chapter, manages all our commercial activities, including retail, box office, catering and events. It covenants all its taxable profits to support the mission and ministry of the Cathedral. Its Board of Directors meets six times a year.

Chair: Mr Jonathan Durrant
Managing Director: Mrs Annabelle Boyes
Non Executive Director: Mr Stan Kaufman
Non Executive Director: Mr Rupert Ellwood
Non Executive Director: Mr Damien Carpanini
Company Secretary: Christiaan Beech
The Reverend Canon Dr Roland Riem, Vice-Dean and Canon Chancellor
Mr Bruce Winton (in attendance)
Ms Susan Gilmour (in attendance)
Ms Charlotte Barnaville (in attendance)
Mr Bob Forrester (in attendance)
Mr Phillip Holroyd-Smith (in attendance)