Closure Notices

This is a living, working building open 365 days a year. Occasionally, for services and special events it is necessary to close the Cathedral or part of the Cathedral to tourist visitors. We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but wherever possible we will include details on this website. Please see at the foot of this page a special section on closures relating to our Capital Works Projects giving details about The Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Triforium Gallery & The South Transept.

This page only includes information about changes to our normal schedule.
We advise that you also check our service listings for full details.

CAPITAL WORKS PROJECT CLOSURES

In 2013 the Cathedral was awarded a grant of £10.5m which, after additional fundraising, means that we can commence upon a Capital Works Project worth some £20.5m, and including:

  • Repair and conservation of the Presbytery Roof and High Vault and medieval windows.
  • A three part exhibition in the South Transept entitled Kings & Scribes: The Birth of a Nation.

During this time we are very grateful to our visitors for their understanding as we complete these exciting and transformational projects, details of which can be found here.

The South Transept, which contained the Triforium Gallery, Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Fishermen’s Chapel is now closed. A temporary exhibition featuring one volume of The Winchester Bible is currently on display in the north transept.  

For more information about any of our closures please call the Cathedral Office on 01962 857 200.


CLOSURES

Wednesday 8 May – 12noon – 4.00pm
Full Cathedral closure for Royal College of General Practitioners Graduation Ceremony.

Thursday 9 May, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Tuesday 14 May, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Thursday 16 May, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Thursday 23 May, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Monday 27 May, 3.45pm – 5.00pm
Full East End and Transept Closure for Bank Holiday Organ Recital. Find out more and buy tickets.

Thursday 30 May, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Thursday 6 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Sunday 9 June, 5.00pm – 8.30pm
Full Cathedral closure for set up for Thy Kingdom Come Service of Prayer at 7.30pm.
Please note due to the Winchester Cycle Criterium there will no vehicle access to the Outer Close. Please make sure to leave plenty of time to get to services on this day due to traffic disruption and parking restrictions.

Tuesday 11 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Thursday 13 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Friday 14 June, 10.30am -12.45pm
Full Cathedral Closure for Memorial Service. More service information.

Thursday 20 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Monday 24 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Thursday 27 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Saturday 29 June, 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept Closure for Holy Communion Service.

Saturday 29 June, 5.00pm – 5.30pm
Full Cathedral Closure to visitors for prior to Ordination of Priests Service at 6.00pm

Sunday 30 June, 9.00am – 9.30am 
Full Cathedral Closure

Wednesday 17 July, 9.00am – 5.00pm
Full Cathedral closure for Sparsholt Graduation Ceremonies

Thursday 18 July, 1.00pm – 4.00pm
Cathedral closed for University of Southampton Graduation Ceremony.

$dayid = date('N'); global $wpdb; $times = $wpdb->get_row("SELECT * FROM opening_times WHERE id=$dayid"); $open = $times->starttime; $close = $times->endtime; $openingtimes=" OPEN $open - $close"; ?> Sun, 19th May
See All Opening Times