Closure Notices

This is a living, working building open 365 days a year. Occasionally, for services and special events it is necessary to close the Cathedral or part of the Cathedral to tourist visitors. We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but wherever possible we will include details on this website. Please see at the foot of this page a special section on closures relating to our Capital Works Projects giving details about The Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Triforium Gallery & The South Transept.

This page only includes information about changes to our normal schedule.
We advise that you also check our service listings for full details.

CAPITAL WORKS PROJECT CLOSURES

In 2013 the Cathedral was awarded a grant of £10.5m which, after additional fundraising, means that we can commence upon a Capital Works Project worth some £20.5m, and including:

  • Repair and conservation of the Presbytery Roof and High Vault and medieval windows.
  • A three part exhibition in the South Transept entitled Kings & Scribes: The Birth of a Nation.

During this time we are very grateful to our visitors for their understanding as we complete these exciting and transformational projects, details of which can be found here.

The South Transept, which contained the Triforium Gallery, Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Fishermen’s Chapel is now closed. A temporary exhibition featuring one volume of The Winchester Bible is currently on display in the north transept.  

For more information about any of our closures please call the Cathedral Office on 01962 857 200.


CLOSURES

 

Mon 14 May – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion

Wed 16 May – Various Times
Presbytery closed to visitors 8.30am – 10.30am
East End closure to visitors for a funeral service. 10.30am – 12.30pm. See our service listings for more information. 

Thurs 17 May – 12.00noon – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Sat 19 May – 11.00am – 1.15pm 
Full Cathedral closure due to ticketed Royal Wedding Celebration event.

Sun 20 May – 5.00pm – 8.30pm 
Full Cathedral closure for Thy Kingdom Come Service. See our service listings for more information. 

Thurs 24 May – 11.45pm – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Friday 25 May, 6 pm – Monday 28 May, 8 am
Priors Gate Closed.
Due to essential repairs, Priors Gate will be closed to both pedestrians and vehicles. There will be no through route during this time. Pedestrian access to the Inner Close and Pilgrims school will still be available via Curles Passage and the Watergate entrances. Diversions will be in place.

Thurs 31 May – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Fri 1 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Sat 2 June – 10.00am – 11.00pm
Lady Chapel closed to visitors for Roman Catholic Mass

Tues 5 June – 2.30pm – 4.00pm
East End closure to visitors for funeral service. See our service listings for more information. 

Sun 3 June – 9.30am – 12noon
Full Cathedral closure to visitors for Mothers’s Union Festival Service. See our service listings for more information. 

Thurs 7 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Mon 11 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Thurs 14 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Thurs 21 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Mon 25 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Thurs 28 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Fri 29 June – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Mon 2 July  – 8.30am – 10.15am
East End closure for private service.

Tues 3 July – 11.45am – 12.45pm
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

Thurs 5 July – 11.45am – 12.45pm 
North Transept closed to visitors for Holy Communion service.

4 Aug – 12.45pm – 3.00pm
Quire Closed to visitors for a wedding