Closure Notices

This is a living, working building open 365 days a year. Occasionally, for services and special events it is necessary to close the Cathedral or part of the Cathedral to tourist visitors. We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but wherever possible we will include details on this website. Please see at the foot of this page a special section on closures relating to our Capital Works Projects giving details about The Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Triforium Gallery & The South Transept.

This page only includes information about changes to our normal schedule.
We advise that you also check our service listings for full details.

 

Sat 8 Apr
Cathedral closed to visitors 10.00am – 12.30pm

Thurs 13 Apr
Cathedral closed to visitors 10.00am – 1.00pm

Fri 14 Apr
Cathedral closed to visitors 11am – 4pm

Wed 26 Apr
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm – 4.30pm

Sat 13 May
East End closed to visitors 10.00am – 11.30am

Sat 13 May
East End closed to visitors 10.00am – 11.30am

Thurs 25 May
Cathedral closed to visitors 4.30am – 5.30pm

Sat 3 June
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 9.30am – 11.00am

Mon 3 July
Cathedral closed to visitors 8.30am – 10.15am

Tue 11 July
East End closed to visitors 11.00am – 12.30pm

Sat 15 Jul
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm – 5.30pm

Mon 17 Jul
Quire closed to visitors 12.30pm – 3.15pm

Wed 19 July
Cathedral closed to visitors 9.00am – 5.00pm

Thur 20 July
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.15pm – 3.15pm

Thur 20 July
East End closed to visitors 4.00pm – 5.30pm

Fri 21 July
East End closed to visitors 9.30am – 11.30am

Fri 21 July
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm – 5.30pm

Sat 22 July
Cathedral closed to visitors 10.00am – 1.30pm

Sat 2 Sep
Quire closed to visitors 9.30am – 11.00am

Wed 6 Sep
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm – 6.30pm

Thur 5 Oct
Quire closed to visitors 10.30am – 11.45am

Sat 14 Oct
Cathedral closed to visitors 10.00am – 12.30pm

Sat 2 Dec
Quire closed to visitors 9.30am – 11.00am

Sat 2 Dec
Cathedral closed to visitors 5.00pm – 6.30pm

Mon 18 Dec
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm – 6.30pm

Wed 20 Dec
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm – 6.30pm

Thurs 21 Dec
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm – 6.30pm

Sat 23 Dec
East End closed to visitors 10.00am – 12.00pm

Sat 23 Dec
East End closed to visitors 2.00pm – 4.00pm

 

Capital Works Projects Closures

In 2013 the Cathedral was awarded a grant of £10.5m which, after additional fundraising, means that we can commence upon a Capital Works Project worth some £20.5m, and including:

  • Repair and conservation of the Presbytery Roof and High Vault and medieval windows.
  • A three part exhibition in the South Transept entitled Kings & Scribes: The Birth of a Nation.

During this time we are very grateful to our visitors for their understanding as we complete these exciting and transformational projects, details of which can be found here.

The South Transept, which contained the Triforium Gallery, Morley Library, Winchester Bible and Fishermen’s Chapel is now closed. A temporary exhibition featuring one volume of The Winchester Bible is currently on display in the north transept.  

For more information about any of our closures please call the Cathedral Office on 01962 857 200.