Southampton Philharmonic Choir Concert

18th Jun 2016 7.30pm - 18th Jun 2016 Event Type: Concert

Southampton Philharmonic Choir, Southampton University Philharmonic Choir and Ars Eloquentiae, conducted by David Gibson present:

Handel – Dixit Dominus
Bach – Magnificat in D
Bach – Brandenburg Concerto No 2

Tickets: £32, £27, £21, £17 and £12 – available from the Cathedral Box Office, online (using the link at the bottom of this page), in person, or by phone on 01962 857 275.

Please note that booking fees apply for online purchases. Concessions apply to: children 18 and under; job seekers; those in receipt of disability benefit; students; wheelchair users and their accompanying carers; people aged 65 and over.
Take advantage of our generous group concession: buy 5 tickets, get a 6th ticket free.

Winchester Cathedral will be the venue for a performance of two of the jewels in the crown of baroque vocal music: Handel’s magnificent setting of Psalm 110 Dixit Dominus and JS Bach’s renowned setting of the Magnificat. Both works are acknowledged virtuoso masterpieces from the two most prominent composers of the early 18th century, contrasting as they are in style and content. The Handel dates from 1707, when the young German composer was attempting to establish himself as a composer in Italy. It has all the passion and exuberance we associate with Italian music of the period, heavily influenced by the ‘concerto’ style of string writing developed by Corelli and Vivaldi. The contrasting sections of the psalm are set for combinations of solo voices and highly expressive choruses, depicting the extreme text; extolling the power and dominance of the Almighty. Bach’s work is equally energetic and spirited, but conveys the additional refinement and maturity of this later work dating from 1733. It uses a larger orchestra, combining pairs of flutes and oboes, with strings and the addition of drums and three spectacular high trumpets. The individual movements are short but distinctive and constructed with the utmost skill and originality; they can justly be described as one of Bach’s finest achievements.
Also in the programme will be a rare opportunity to hear Ars Eloquentiae performing Bach’s second Brandenburg Concerto, written for solo violin, recorder, oboe and high trumpet. This well-known work calls for spectacular virtuosity from the players and extreme sensitivity in balancing the contrasting solo instruments.

Book Tickets Online