Service Listings

Monday, 6th July 2020

Tuesday, 7th July 2020

Hedda, Bishop of Winchester, 705

Wednesday, 8th July 2020

Thursday, 9th July 2020

Friday, 10th July 2020

Saturday, 11th July 2020

Benedict of Nursia, Abbot of Monte Cassino, Father of Western Monasticism c550

  • - HOME LITURGY SERVICE - Friends of Winchester Cathedral (online)

    Anthems: Stanford A song of wisdom  Rutter For the beauty of the earth
    Hymn: Praise to God with hearts abounding (Abbots Leigh)
    This service will be made available for participants to view at any time

  • 17.30 - Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Bevan/Parratt Psalm 104
    Anthem: Stanford A song of wisdom
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer on Zoom

Sunday, 12th July 2020

The Fifth Sunday after Trinity

  • 08.00 - Holy Communion BCP

    This service will be held in the Cathedral. Further information 

  • 10.00 - LITURGY OF THE FOUNDATION (Pre-recorded)

    President: The Dean
    Preacher: The Bishop of Winchester
    Deacon: Canon Andy Trenier
    Processional: Stanford Jubilate in B flat
    Anthem: Harris Behold the tabernacle
    Hymns: Christ is made the sure foundation; Amazing grace
    Instructions on how to join this service will follow

  • 10.45 - Cathedral Community Gathering with Bishop's Charge (BY INVITATION ON ZOOM)
  • 17.30 - Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Goss/Harrison Psalm 60 Atkins Psalm 63
    Anthem: Harris Behold the tabernacle
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer on Zoom

Monday, 13th July 2020

Tuesday, 14th July 2020

John Keble, Priest, Tractarian, Poet 1866

Wednesday, 15th July 2020

Translation of St Swithun, Bishop, Patron Saint of the Cathedral, 853

  • 12.00 - Eucharist

    This service will be held in the Cathedral. Further information

  • 15.00 - College of Canons Liturgy (BY INVITATION ON ZOOM)

    Host and Reflection: The Dean
    Anthem: Rutter For the beauty of the earth
    Hymn: Lord of the Dance

  • 17.30 - Public Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Coward/Hopkins/Hemmings Verses from Psalm 119
    Anthem: Rutter For the beauty of the earth
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer on Zoom

Thursday, 16th July 2020

Helier, First Saint of Jersey, Martyr, 6th century

Friday, 17th July 2020

Saturday, 18th July 2020

Jane Austen, Novelist, 1817

Sunday, 19th July 2020

The Sixth Sunday after Trinity

  • 08.00 - Holy Communion BCP

    This service will be held in the Cathedral. Further information

  • 10.00 - EUCHARIST (Pre-recorded)

    President: The Dean
    Deacon: Canon Roland Riem
    Preacher: Canon Mark Collinson
    Hymn: For the gifts of His creation
    Communion motet: Rutter For the beauty of the earth
    Details of how to join this service will follow

  • 17.30 - Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Luard-Selby Psalm 67  Hine/Aldrich Psalm 70
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer via Zoom

Monday, 20th July 2020

Tuesday, 21st July 2020

Wednesday, 22nd July 2020

Mary Magdalene

Thursday, 23rd July 2020

  • - MAYORAL SERVICE (online)

    Anthem: Rutter For the beauty of the earth
    Hymn: Lord of all hopefulness
    This service will be made available for participants to view at any time

  • 17.30 - Public Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Turle Psalm 138  Camidge/Elvey Psalm 140  Bertalot Psalm 141
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer on Zoom

Friday, 24th July 2020

Saturday, 25th July 2020

James the Apostle

  • 17.30 - Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Clark/Woodward Psalm 94
    Setting: Plainsong
    Anthem: Stanford How beauteous are their feet
    Instructions on how to join this service will follow

Sunday, 26th July 2020

The Seventh Sunday after Trinity

  • 08.00 - Holy Communion BCP

    This service will be held in the Cathedral. Further information

  • 10.00 - COMMEMORATION EUCHARIST (Livestreamed on what would have been the first Sunday of the Lambeth Conference)

    President: Canon Mark Collinson
    Deacon: Canon Andy Trenier
    Preacher: Archbishop of Chile
    Hymn: All my hope on God is founded
    Instructions on how to join this service will follow

  • 17.30 - Evening Prayer (via Zoom)

    Introit: Lloyd Psalm 75 Nicholson Psalm 76
    Hymn: The duteous day now closeth
    Click here for instructions on joining Evening Prayer on Zoom

Monday, 27th July 2020

Tuesday, 28th July 2020

Samson, Bishop, Missionary in Guernsey, 565

Wednesday, 29th July 2020

Mary, Martha and Lazarus, Companions of our Lord

Thursday, 30th July 2020

William Wilberforce, Social Reformer, 1833

Friday, 31st July 2020